OHS Level 2: Day 4

Day 4. Day 4? How the heck did that happen?! Now that I’m feeling better, time seems to be flying by. That kinda sucks in a way (but it doesn’t suck because I get my Goober home in 5 more sleeps!).

We dove right into worsted and semi-worsted spinning today. This was mostly review for me because I had did this during the intermediate course two years ago. I’m feeling pretty confident about the upcoming homework. In fact, I’m a bit excited. I know, right? Excited about homework? Yep. Bring it!

This afternoon we had the opportunity to use different combs. I have a set of mini combs, which I am now in love with – I hadn’t used them before today. I wanted to get a review and make sure that my memories of what I was taught 2 years ago was correct. After all, a LOT has happened in the last two years *sigh* Anyway, it was pretty much exactly how I remembered, but the refresher was definitely in order.

Worsted spinning - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

Worsted spinning on the wheel

I also found out the name of my combs that I had acquired from an estate sale. They’re Eliza Leadbeater. Beth A. was telling me that she thinks that there must have been a stand to clamp to the table to hold them in place. So I’m on the quest to see if I can find out. Right now, I don’t think I’ll be able to use them until I have one. I did take pics though, so maybe I can talk sweetly to Dad to rig something.

Wool combs - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

Wool combs and the type of stand I’m hoping to get for mine

I was sitting there spinning this afternoon, focusing on my technique. I mean REALLY focusing. I heard Beth A. say something, but I didn’t think she was talking to me. It turns out she was. She had asked me if I was happy. I was so far into the zone that I wasn’t aware of my surroundings. It was pretty funny! My friend had to nudge me. The answer was yes, I was VERY happy!!! LOL

We ended with the annual potluck over at Wendy’s. I’m not one for crowds, but this is a definite exception. There was a totally different atmosphere there tonight compared to last year. I know I was more comfortable because I feel like I know my classmates better. I had an absolute riot!

Tomorrow… More worsted spinning. Bring it!

What's on your mind?

