Quest for the Right Mitten Pattern

In my previous post, I had talked about some commercial yarn that I had plied with a singles of my handspun. I got it back yesterday. The next part of the challenge is to make the yarn into a finished article. I have chosen to knit mittens. I think I shocked the group seeing as I usually have a crochet hook in my hands at 6 hours a day. While I enjoy crocheting, I’ve got the knitting bug. I did a pattern test a couple of months ago for some knitted mitts and the bug bit me.

I’m thinking that I would like to combine the yarn I did with black. I think it would look sharp. There is already a lady in our group making Newfie Mittens, so I want to steer away from that (although I think they would be beautiful with my yarn combined with black).

I know I want to use black to bring out the yarn. I’m sort of at a standstill though. A lot of the colour work mittens are for lighter weight yarn. I may also just play around with my stitch book and see where it gets me. Oh, the choices. It’s almost overwhelming!

I’m open to suggestions if anyone has any. Thank you!

What's on your mind?

