Handspun Meets Commercial

In September, each member of our little spinning group was given a 3oz bag of Romney fleece. We had the option of dyeing it (you know how that went for me!). We were then to spin it up and ply it with a commercial yarn. I chose Schachenmayr Regia Fluormania Color in Neon Rainbow. I love the weird looks I got when I bought it and then when I showed it to the other spinners. They were polite, but I could tell the wheels were turning. My inner thirteen year-old was pleased with this choice hehehe

I decided to go with Cyan to dye my yarn. It was the one colour that I felt was missing. I figured that it may tone down the brightness too, without losing the vibrancy.

Before plying handspun and commercial - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.org

The singles on the left is the Romney fleece that I dyed and spun. I then plied it with the fluorescent yarn on the right

And here is what I got… (the picture doesn’t do it justice, but it was hard to catch the colour inside and it was Arctic-warm outside)

Handspun plied with commercial yarn - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.org

Handspun plied with commercial yarn

I was pretty thrilled with how it turned out! It was actually what I expected. I haven’t decided what I’m going to make with it yet, but I’m thinking mittens. I can’t wait to get it back and work with it! (It’s off being photographed along with the rest of the group’s projects).

This was a great experience! You get the best of both worlds with handspun and commercial. It’s an economical way to say that you have have handspun yarn in your stash.

5 thoughts on “Handspun Meets Commercial

    • You need to overspin the commercial S, spin your singles S and then ply Z. I’m not to the point of counting treadles so I can’t offer any suggestions there, but I managed to get it to balance (probably because I held my breath the right way LOL). The ratio I used for spinning both was 8:1 and plying was 10:1 if that helps at all 🙂

What's on your mind?

