My Shredder

Once again, my Sweet Pea asked me to make his Halloween costume for him. I’ve had a few CRAZY weeks with working on assignments for the spinning course, but how could I say no to him? It’s not that it’s my intention to spoil him. I love his appreciation of the things that I make for him. He could be just like any other child, wanting one of those costumes from out of the store (which would have been a heck of a lot easier this year! LOL). But no, he wants something made especially for him by his mama’s own two hands. There may come a day where he doesn’t want to wear the things I make anymore. So I’m going to ride this train for as long as I can!

When he told me he wanted to be Shredder (the nemesis of the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles), my response was “Why do you want to be a bad guy?” He said “I don’t want to be a bad guy… I just love Shredder’s suit!” I was going to make it for him anyway, but I just loved that answer!

Of course since I’m in a time crunch between my course and Christmas orders (and my cleaning jobs and petsitting and single parenthood), I took to Ravelry to see if there were any Shredder patterns. Of course there weren’t. That would have been too easy! So yes, Mama had to get creative. While I did use a couple of patterns as bases, I did all of the details on my own.

Shredder's Hand Armour - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

Shredder’s Hand Armour

My Little Shredder - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

Working on some moves

My Little Shredder - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

We must get the Turtles!

My Little Shredder - keepmeinstitchez.wordpress.com

My Little Shredder

One thought on “My Shredder

What's on your mind?

