Pattern Review: Shell’s Travel Case (and some other rambling)

First of all, I want to apologize for my absence. I’m trying to get my orders completed before I start my spinning course in August and make sure that the Kinmount Artisans Marketplace is stocked up. I’m also still dealing with a lot of emotions regarding Mom’s passing. I’ve found myself dealing with it by working on things with bright, vibrant colours. It’s hard be down when you’re surrounded with that!

Onto the review…

I had the honour of testing Shell’s Travel Hook Case. When I looked at it, I thought “Mama needs a new hook case!” So of course I had to do it in purple! AND… I had been saving a very special button for a special project. When I was a little girl, I LOVED going through Granny Girl’s button jar. There was this one button in particular I have admired for as long as I could remember. It had grapes on it. Of course I loved it because it was purple! So I figured that it was time. I used it for this project.

This pattern is clear and well-written. It’s flexible too in that you can adjust the size of the compartments to fit a standard hook or the ergo hooks with the bigger handles. I was able to fit my whole set with polymer clay handles, along with two others that I frequently use. There was also room for my scissors, tape measure and WPI gauge. But do you know what I REALLY love about this pattern?

THE TEXTURE!

Yes, this pattern makes my inner texture junkie sing.

Shell's Travel Case1 Shell's Travel Case2 Shell's Travel Case3

I LOVE my new case. I would certainly recommend this pattern to a friend! You can purchase the pattern for Shell’s Travel Hook case here.

4 thoughts on “Pattern Review: Shell’s Travel Case (and some other rambling)

  1. Awww! Kyla, you make me squeee with happiness! Knotting is love to me. All of it, color, texture, findings, supplies, yarns, strings, hooks, needles. I just love seeing what comes from each set of hands. Thank you so very much for playing inside my imagination and making such a beautiful case and story! <3pam

    • Thank you for giving me the opportunity to test! I can understand where you’re coming from with the excitement. I get so excited when I see what people come up with with yarn that I have spun. When I spin, I am at my happiest and I feel that energy goes into the yarn and passes on to the person working with it. I get giddy to see the finished projects!

What's on your mind?

