Wonder Woman Minion

I’m going to post something, but you have to PROMISE to not fall in love with her…

20140411-103504.jpg

Yes, this is my take on Wonder Woman in Minion form. I made her for my son’s friend for her birthday. Her response was just precious! And I got a hug from her mom too. They are the kind of people who know how much work goes into handmade stuff. So when my son told me that’s what he wanted to give his friend for her birthday, I didn’t bat an eye. I also think highly of this little girl, so that just settled the request right there.

Right now I don’t have any intention of making these up to sell. With the amount that I would have to charge for them to make it worth my while (in other words to continue to put food on our table, clothes on our backs and a roof over our heads!), I don’t think they would sell very well. This was a labour of love.

I have been asked to write up a pattern for it. I haven’t ruled it out, but that won’t be any time soon. I have a LOT on my plate right now. If I did write it up, I would offer it for free. Also with the understanding that it’s in very rough form, you must already know how to crochet as it won’t be a beginner pattern, it won’t be tested (unless people want to share their results) and I won’t be able to promise that I can offer support or immediately answer questions regarding it. I have a lot of designer friends and I have a good idea what’s involved with putting your designs out there. If I was going to charge for it, then yes, I would be obligated to offer support. Anyway, I just wanted to get that out of the way now. I would help as best as I could, but I wouldn’t be able to be counted on to get respond right away.

Getting back to the pattern… I used the Minion pattern I usually use as a base. I started following a pattern (which I will list below), but as I got working, I didn’t think the detachable parts would work for my Sweet Pea. I could just see there being a middle-of-the-night freakout… “Mama!!! I can’t find Stuart’s arm!!!” So while I think it’s a cool concept, it just wouldn’t work here. So I tweaked it so that the arms are crocheted right in. The feet and bottom are also worked in one piece, so there’s no sewing! Yay!

Now as for the Wonder Woman inspiration, I did look at the photo for the pattern I’m going to link below. I had considered purchasing the pattern but this one wasn’t very tall and she was sitting. I wanted to keep consistent with my son’s Minions just in case the Minions wanted to “play” with each other LOL I also used images from the web too.

So anyway, that’s my take on Wonder Woman in Minion form. I have opened a gate though… My Sweet Pea now informs me that he will be requiring an Iron Man Minion. And I just know that that’s going to evolve into a series of Avengers Minions. And then there’s the DC crew… I want a Minion of my own in Dr. Who form!

Interchangeable Minion Figures
Wonder Woman Minion

2 thoughts on “Wonder Woman Minion

What's on your mind?

