Day 7: Looking Forward

Looking Forward One year from now, when the 5th Knitting & Crochet Blog Week rolls around, where do you hope your crafting will have taken you to? What new skills, projects and experiences do you hope you might have conquered or tried?

One year from now, I will have completed the Intermediate Level spinning course at Fleming. I believe I will be a full-blown fibre snob by then. I’m also confident that I will have got the hang of of dyeing wool with food colouring.

As far as the projects on the hook and needles go, one thing I would REALLY love to try is thrummed mittens. They look so warm and cozy and they feel like Heaven. I can also see myself knitting a shawl/wrap out of yarn that I have dyed and spun.

I’m sure I’ll be in for quite a few surprises over the next year too. After being broken down by an abusive relationship, the rebuilding process has been a long, difficult process. But I believe I’m at the plateau now. After all of the hard work I have invested, things are falling into place nicely. I have two stores I’m putting my work into. I’m doing a knitting workshop this summer. I’ll also be doing spinning demos. In other words, this girl is living out her dreams.

2 thoughts on “Day 7: Looking Forward

  1. I’ve heard soldiers were taught how to knit as a PTSD treatment. I think there’s merit in that tale.
    Thrummed mitts look glorious but it never gets cold enough in Australia to warrant them.

  2. It wouldn’t surprise me one bit about being a PTSD treatment. I’ll tell you, knitting, crocheting and spinning sure have been a sanity saver for me! Spinning can pull me out of just about any funk and I’m so grateful that I’ve discovered that.

    If you ever wanted to make a pair of thrummed mitts you could always find a crazy Canuck to do an exchange with 😉

What's on your mind?

