Day 2: A Mascot Project

Day Two (Tuesday April 23rd): A Mascot Project.
Your task today is to either think of or research a project that embodies that house/animal. It could be a knitting or crochet pattern – either of the animal itself or something that makes you think of the qualities of that house. Alternatively it could be a type or colour of yarn, or a single button. Whatever you choose, decide upon a project and blog about how and why it relates to your house/creature. You do not have to make this project! It is simply an exercise in blogging about how you come to decide upon what projects to make. Try and blog about the journey which inspiration and investigating patterns, yarns, stitches, (etc) can often guide you through. You may wish to make a collage or ‘mood board’ to present several ideas, or even sketch out your own design.

Yesterday I determined that I belonged to the House of the Bees. It didn’t take me long to figure out what kind of project I wanted to research. I’m a texture nut, so as soon as I saw this challenge I immediately turned to the page in my knitting stitch dictionary that I’d been eying up for awhile. As you can see, it’s for a honeycomb stitch. Well, my book (400 Knitting Stitches by Potter Craft) calls it the Wasp Stitch.

photo69

There is something in me that REALLY wants to make a pair of mittens with this texture. I can see myself rubbing them up against the side of my face just to feel the bumps and ripples. I would use the yarn I call “The Colour of Happy” in the inside pieces and black yarn (possibly commercial) for the outline. The other yarn that would work for this would be Louet’s Tropical Skittles (a Kimberly & Co favorite). But then again, so would Bernat’s Mosaic in any colour combination.

20130224-020303.jpg54001_411583238896145_737791547_ophoto(20)

Why am I picturing multiple pairs of these mittens?

I haven’t decided if I’m going to try to write the pattern myself or just use a pattern by another artist (giving full credit of course!). I may end up using a pattern just so that I can enjoy the stitches without having to figure them out. Here are a few of the possible ones:

Honeycomb Mittens

Newfie Mitts

and the blatantly obvious…

Busy Bee Mitts (if I did do this one, the bees and honeycombs would be a different colour)

I LOVE the texture in these mittens. If I was to ever do a bright/light solid colour, these ones would be at the top of my list:

Winter Buzz

I glanced about one of the bonus posts for Knitting and Crocheting Blog Week was to actually make this project. Challenge accepted. That will be my “Me Project”. (“Me Project” are those projects that I do for fun just because they appeal to me. I may or may not keep them. Depends on how I feel about them. A lot of my spinning are examples of Me Projects)

2 thoughts on “Day 2: A Mascot Project

  1. If you do much cabling there’s also a cable pattern that makes a honeycomb shape like that. I wish I could remember it so I could tell you the basic pattern but I haven’t done it since I first learned to cable, anyway the texture of that one is just wonderful as well.

What's on your mind?

