Day 1: The House Cup

houses

This week I’ll be taking part in Knitting and Crocheting Blog Week. Today our task is to choose a “House”. This is a tricky one for many of us because we have a lot of the attributes of other “houses”. I think it would just be easier to create mutant animal that embodies all of the characteristics we each possess!

I decided to go with The House of Bees. Bees are described as:
“busy and industrious, but can flit from one interesting project to the next as bright and shiny things capture their interest.”

bee

That is pretty much me in a nutshell. I ALWAYS have a hook or needles in my hand (if I’m not spinning or doing something else fibre-related). I “work” 7 days a week during all hours. I put the quotations around work because technically I AM working, but it sure as heck doesn’t feel like it. If I was working for somebody else, would I be happy working at 11 o’clock at night on a Saturday? Heck no!

I am attracted to very bright colours and it’s even better if there is shiny things within those colours. I LOVE spinning with bright colours. I have also discovered that I enjoy adding “shiny stuff” such as Firestar and Angelina to my spinning.

photo(62)20130331-173256.jpgIMG_1487 20110320-041441.jpg"Tropical Skittles"

Flit from one project to another? Moi?

IMG_1906IMG_1931IMG_1456Weaving SampleScreen and squegeeIMG_1996

One of the many things I love about being a fibre artist is all the different mediums. I realize that this week is about posting about knitting and crocheting, but to not include the other mediums I enjoy would mean I’m not being true to myself.

I think one of the advantages to flitting between projects and mediums is that the risk of carpal tunnel and other hand/joint issues decrease. We run a risk of injury if we do the same thing over and over again, using the same muscles and joints. By constantly switching it up, various muscles and joints are worked.

I would have liked to have made a bunch of pretty graphics and taken better pictures for this event, but to be quite honest, I don’t have the time this week. Aside from preparing items for the market this weekend, my town has been flooded. I am VERY grateful that it hasn’t affected my home at this point, but the school has been closed down. So on top of my normal duties, I have my 5 year-old son home with me. I’ll be lucky if I can keep up with all these posts! LOL With that said, I am going to do my best to keep up and post everyday.

4KCBWDAY1

2 thoughts on “Day 1: The House Cup

What's on your mind?

