One Proud Mama!

I have a five year-old son who is the love of my life. He is the reason I got out of an abusive relationship. He is the reason I went back to school, which means he is the reason I found my passion for spinning.

When I got my spinning wheel, Wendy (the woman who taught me to spin) warned me that he will want to touch my wheel and treadle. Her advice was to let him do it to get it out of his system. So when I got it home I laid down some ground rules. I told him that anytime the wheel was set up and he wanted to treadle, just to ask. I also told him that if I caught him touching the wheel or treadling without asking, he would never be allowed to use it ever again. It’s been almost a year and a half since I got it and not once has he ever touched it without asking. I think Wendy was brilliant with her suggestion!

Yesterday he saw me carding some wool. He asked me if he could help, but that lasted all of 2 seconds (I don’t blame him because carding isn’t nearly as fun as spinning!). Today he saw me carding some more wool. Then he asked me if he could spin it. I asked him “Do you want to treadle or do you want to spin some yarn?” He said “Spin some yarn!” Wow. Seriously?! I told him that I would card up some of his very own wool. So I did.

I don’t usually share pictures or videos of my little guy for personal reasons, but this was just too unique and special to keep to myself. It’s not everyday you see a young boy learning how to spin!

549014_10152702183595361_895938200_n

319976_10152702186270361_634937353_n

This is what he spun

I also uploaded a video of him spinning.

When he had enough, he went to play. I asked him if he had fun and he said that he did. I told him that if he wanted to, I would get him his very own bag of wool to spin. He was pretty excited about that. He said “I would like Lightning McQueen wool please!” I told him that they didn’t make McQueen wool. I did tell him that if he wanted to make his own, we could. I told him about dying it red with food colouring. He thought that was a great idea!

I wish I could describe how I felt when he asked me if he could spin. I’m just so giddy! I don’t know if this is something he will consistently do, but the fact that he wanted to do it on his own was very exciting. I have this feeling when he sees all the attention he’s got on Facebook so far, he’ll probably do it again. My little ham! LOL

4 thoughts on “One Proud Mama!

    • Thank you! I’m so glad that Wendy gave me that suggestion about letting him treadle. Aside from it getting old for him, I think it also piqued his curiosity. He was 3 1/2 when I got it. That’s wonderful that your little guy doesn’t touch it when your out of the room. Probably not an easy thing for a 2 yr old! (although my little guy was really good at 2 too. But those Frickin’ Four’s… Lol)

  1. I know exactly how you feel, my youngest is 8 and she has always been interested in my fibre crafts. When she was old enough to spin then knit her own wrist warmers, (very simple), she was so pleased with herself! I sometimes spin on my drop spindle at my daughter’s school, the kids love watching and if I let them they like to try spinning. I love teaching young kids…the amazement on their faces when they see their resulting yarn from a bunch of fluff…it is magic to them!

    • Oh, that’s so exciting! How old was she? I’m just chomping at the bit to get my spinning wheel into my son’s classroom, but that won’t happen for a few more years. I don’t think the majority are old enough to really get it (in reality, I don’t want anyone to break my wheel!). I really need to get better with the spindle. I just picked on up a few weeks ago. When I tried it in school, it did not go well (in all fairness, I had some personal garbage going on that day). Maybe that’s incentive to step it up.

What's on your mind?

