Every New Beginning is Some Other Beginning’s End

Today I graduated from the Women in Business course put on by the YWCA.

This program was amazing. There was a lot more self-reflection involved than what I expected. This was a GOOD thing, for me anyway. I thought I was ready to launch a business, but this course helped me realize that I’m not quite there yet. I believe that with this realization when I am ready, I will be successful. If I didn’t do the ground work (“me” work), I could have been doomed from the start.

I still have some loose ends to tie up from my “old life”. I had been putting it off and putting it off. I came to the conclusion that if I wanted to move forward, I needed to address these issues and release the fear, anger and bitterness they invoke when I think about them. I don’t want to bring that energy into my business! The last thing I’m going to say about these issues is this… Karma is a bitch if you’ve maliciously screwed others over and make no attempt for retribution. She WILL catch up to you and bite you in the ass, especially when you least expect it.

Moving on…

So while I didn’t draft up a business plan, I feel that I have the resources and tools to do so when I’m ready. I did write a life plan. It was really reassuring to see, in writing, that I am on the path I want to be on. I’m still not sure the exact route, but there is no question in my mind, heart and soul what the direction will be.

I would recommend this course to any woman who is thinking that owning their own business is something that may be of interest to them. I learned a lot of valuable information.

The big surprise is the friendships and bonds that were formed. It’s a sisterhood. I felt so comfortable with this group of women. It was a safe place to open up about business or anything else I needed to get off my chest. That doesn’t happen that often. I feel truly blessed. I’m really excited for all of them and I can’t wait to see where they go from here. I wish them all the best from the bottom of my heart.

I can’t say enough good things about Donna Arnold, the group facilitator. She has so much knowledge about this stuff. She helped create a comfortable environment. She is just a beautiful soul.

And last but not least, a HUGE thank you to Sarah Adams from the YWCA. I remember doing an interview with her about a year ago. She had mentioned that she was trying to put a business course together for women and asked me if I would be interested. I said I definitely was and asked her to keep me posted. Seeing how she pulled this together is VERY inspirational to me. I got to see her dream manifest into something beautiful.

When our businesses take off, I hope Donna and Sarah will take a minute to pat themselves on the back and say to themselves “I helped make that happen!”

Dream Enablers!

20130402-184410.jpg

2 thoughts on “Every New Beginning is Some Other Beginning’s End

  1. Congratulations on so much more than completing this course! You realized the most important thing- when you are ready to actually start your own business. I call my retail store experience “My Boot Camp.” I should have gone through that course before buying an existing business I managed, but I felt pressured to “buy now” and I was, as you say,
    “doomed from the start.” Good for you! I am so happy you are moving forward with an open heart and eyes wide open. Best wishes.

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! I’m trying so hard to get everything lined up to succeed because I just can’t vision myself doing anything else as a career. I’ve been there, done that. I understand that “buy now” pressure… I had an opportunity come up earlier this year and I almost took it. But fortunately I had burnt myself out with Christmas orders (I never thought I would ever say that it was fortunate that I got burnt out! LOL). That in itself was a lesson because I just couldn’t say no. It’s all a learning process, isn’t it? All be the best.

What's on your mind?

