Mom’s Birthday Cowl

For the second year in a row, Mom actually told me what she wanted for her birthday! I’m sure most adult children get the old “Save your money, I don’t need anything” line. I find this so frustrating because Mom is the most deserving of gifts and spoiling for all that she has done over the course of my life and continues to do for my son and I. I started telling her a few years ago that she may as well go ahead and tell me what she would like because I’m going to be getting her something anyway. I don’t want the hassle of returning something that doesn’t fit or seeing her not use the item I made/bought for her. I think she’s finally getting it!

A couple of weeks ago I asked her what she would like. She told me that she would like a cowl to match her new coat. She said she wanted something warm and soft, but nothing too fuzzy because she didn’t know how her cough would handle that. She was also specific about what she was looking for in the length and width department. I like it when she’s specific. So we hopped on my computer and started going through patterns on Ravelry and Craftsy.

She ended up choosing the Avena Cowl pattern by Littletheorem Knits. It was well-written and I’m happy with my purchase. One thing I would suggest if you do purchase this pattern is to put a stitch marker every 10 stitches (it’s a 10 stitch repeat). I was working with dark yarn and it got a little confusing. This is nothing to do with the way the pattern was written though. Completely an operator issue *wink* I have fallen in love with this stitch combination. It makes a gorgeous texture.

And since this cowl was for Mom, there was no way I was going to use acrylic! It didn’t really fit her request anyway. I don’t know how happy she is about the part where she can’t just throw it in the washing machine. Unfortunately you have to choose between comfort and convenience when it comes to yarn. I always tell people it’s best to not put hand-knit or crocheted items in the washer and dryer anyway in order to preserve them. I told her that I would wash it for her if she wanted me to.

I ended up going with Akapana by Mirasol. It’s comprised of 65% baby llama, 25% Merino wool and 10% Donegal. This is the first time I’ve worked yarn containing llama fleece. Let me tell you, this is not helping my evolution into a yarn snob! It’s just going to be a matter of time before I won’t even be able to look at my acrylic stash. I guess that’s not a bad thing though.

I highly doubt I’ll be able to get a picture of Mom modelling her new cowl with her coat. So a picture on the blocking board will have to do. This is one of those projects that felt like it was over before it started. Good job I ended up getting twice as much yarn as I needed! (Craftsy wouldn’t let me download the pattern on my phone so I had no idea what the yardage was). It felt so good that I may have to make another!

photo(45)

What's on your mind?

