Happy Spinaversary! One Year Later…

It was a year ago yesterday, September 13, today that I first sat down at a spinning wheel (in this lifetime anyway!). I just started spinning. It’s like I had been doing it my whole life. The other part of it is that until I did, it felt like there was a part missing from my life. I have totally fallen in love with spinning! I find it so relaxing, so meditative. It really is my happy place.

So it was more than fitting that I spent my first “spinaversary” with the very same person who introduced me to it, in the very same room I touched a spinning wheel for the very first time. I had sent Wendy a message back in August offering to help out if she needed me. So I spent yesterday and Tuesday at the college, helping out this year’s Fibre Arts students. What a honour! They are just a lovely bunch of women. I hope to get up there to say hi every once in awhile. I am certainly planning on going to their final show. I’m quite excited about that!

I’ll tell you, it was really cool to be there to see them spinning for the first time. There were a few that decided that spinning just wasn’t their thing. But there were also some that did quite well. I hope that they will continue with it and find the joy in it that I have.

I also asked Wendy a few more questions about the OHS (Ontario Handweavers and Spinners) Master Spinner Program. I really think I would like to take this. She told me that they won’t be starting a new course for 2 more years. That’s fine. It’s a 6 year program, so I really want to be sure that I want to commit to it. Oh, who am I kidding? We already know how that is going to go!

I would LOVE to build up my skills as a spinner and help keep the tradition alive by passing it on to others. The world would be a much happier place if we just took a step back and remembered our roots. We live in some crazy times, but really our society is spoiled. If you want a ball of yarn, you just go out to the store and get it. In the grander scheme of things, it really wasn’t all that long ago when you HAD to spin your own yarn because that’s just the way it was. Now we have the option. If we don’t keep these traditions alive, they will fade away.

2 thoughts on “Happy Spinaversary! One Year Later…

  1. Thank you so very much for leaving a comment on my blog. For some reason I was not getting notice when you updated. Glad that you are back πŸ™‚

  2. I haven’t been updating all that much these days. I haven’t figured out how to crochet and type at the same time hehehe I am going to TRY to update more because I have a lot of fibre activities going on. My little guy just started school last week, so now I have time to be more productive πŸ™‚

What's on your mind?

