New Crochet Pattern Review Blog (and a bit of a rant)

I don’t know about you, but I am soooo sick and tired of poorly written patterns! I ran into ANOTHER one yesterday. Thank goodness it was free. This time. With the way it was written, I certainly won’t be purchasing the ones the designer has up for sale.

I’m almost to the point where I’m reluctant to buy patterns from a designer that I haven’t bought from before. I’ve wasted so much time and so much money on patterns that are just garbage. A missing gauge. A pattern that doesn’t match the gauge and comes out the wrong size. Missing stitch counts. An OBVIOUS copy-and-paste job from another size of the same pattern without that size being tested. No measurements. That’s only a few of the issues. I don’t know if these people just don’t care as long as they’re making money? It is costing ME (and everyone else who is buying these) time and money to work from these patterns. When you have to tweak a pattern, that takes away from your productivity. If you’re depending on the work you stitch to pay the bills, you can’t afford to take that time. Is buying a pattern not supposed to SAVE you from doing this? Is that not the whole point?

I know I’m not alone with my frustration. So much so that a friend of mine has now started a blog that reviews crochet patterns. If you’re interested in saving yourself time and money, check out Crochet Pattern Reviews. She is going to be working on bringing attention to the POSITIVE aspects of each pattern that she reviews. It is NOT meant to trash talk designers, it’s nothing personal. It is a resource to help us all save time and money by pointing out whose patterns are worth spending your money on. I’m really excited about this!

For designers, I think it’s going to be very useful too. You will get feedback straight from the horse’s mouth. I’m sure you’ll quickly find out what the crochet community is REALLY looking for, what we like, what we don’t like. I think this will be a very effective tool to compliment your business.

A subject that came up amongst a group of stitching friends is how some designers are so out of the loop with the rights that they think they have to their patterns. There are quite a few out there that say that you not allowed to sell the finished product from their pattern. WRONG. And don’t even get me started on cottage licenses. Seriously, if you see a pattern requiring you to purchase a cottage license in order to sell the items YOU make, save your money and walk away. Once somebody buys/obtains a pattern, they are free to do what they want with the finished product. They do NOT have the right to sell the pattern itself. Technically, you’re not even legally required to put a link back to the designer. With that said, it is professional to do that and just plain good Karma. Aside from that, I know I wouldn’t want my customers to think that I designed something and that my designing skills are stronger than what they are.

This misinformed attitude will cause me to sail right past a listing. Why would I BUY a pattern if I can’t at least make my money back from it? Technically I COULD sell the item made, but I really don’t want the headache of having to fight with somebody who has no idea what they’re talking about. I’d rather give my money to somebody that has put a pattern out there that encourages you to build your business. It’s only helping them too.

Another attitude that amuses me is how there are some designers out there that are designing character hats, charging money for a pattern of a copyrighted image they DO NOT own, yet they go after other designers that come up with a pattern based on the character they don’t own the copyright to in the first place! Seriously? Go ahead and take that one to court. I’m sure Disney would be okay with you making money from their characters and not getting a cut LOL

For more information about copyright laws and patterns, check out Tabber’s Temptations.

—-End Rant—-

LOL

2 thoughts on “New Crochet Pattern Review Blog (and a bit of a rant)

  1. My problem with pattern writers is they assume you know what they are doing . I just want to make some things for myself and family. I’m not good enough to sell anything yet and need a lot of practice. But I never will become a good crocheter if I keep giving up on it because of bad patterns.

    So please explain it and make it crystal clear . Thanks

    Act as if you are a newbie and then write it so that a beginner would get it.

    • Depending on the designer, many will indicate what that experience level is in the pattern listing. If they don’t, you most certainly have the right to ask! Many will also include links to videos or include photo tutorials. I don’t know how new you are, but if you haven’t ran across Moogly yet, I highly encourage you to look her up. She has a lot of tutorials in the form of video and photo instructions. The Crochet Geek is another good one. If there is anything I can do to help fan the flames and cheer you on, please let me know! If you’re on Facebook, the easiest way to track me down is on my page https://www.facebook.com/keepmeinstitchez/ Happy stitching!

What's on your mind?

