My gratitude for SIRCH

I just finished doing a presentation for SIRCH Community Services this morning. DOES IT EVER FEEL GOOD to be on the other side!!! The side where I can give back for what they have given us!

For those who aren’t familiar with what SIRCH does, they are a community organization based out of Haliburton, Ontario. They have various programs such as hospice, Community Kitchen, School’s Cool, parenting assistance programs and so much more. They are also a springboard for some services to help out members of the community. They helped launch the Dental Outreach Program, a service for low income families who need emergency dental procedures. They were also the ones who put Sew Resourceful together, the program that helped propel me onto the path I have ALWAYS wanted to be on!

From the day I say how generous people were that Christmastime my son and I had to spend in a shelter, I decided right then and there that I want to be in a position to give back. I’m here now!

I just wanted to share some parts of the speech I gave this morning. Once again, I welled up and barely got through it. I’ve told my story a million times now and it still chokes me up every time. But it’s no longer from the pain we endured. It’s from taking a step back and looking at how far we have come! Three and a half years ago we were in a shelter. We had no place to go. I had no idea how I was going to support us. All I knew was that being in a shelter was far better than where we were.

Since then I have secured a home for us. I got connected with SIRCH and some other services to give me the resources to rebuild our lives. I lived out a life-long dream by going back to school and taking a fibre arts program. I graduated 2 weeks ago πŸ™‚ I am now building a home-based business, doing what I love AND being there for my son. It’s picking up momentum and there are times that I actually feel unprepared for where it’s going! This is SO exciting!

And SIRCH has played a MAJOR part in how we’ve got to where we are. I think my speech will tell the story…

I am a volunteer and client of SIRCH.
I am a survivor.

Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am empowered.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am the voice of many.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am a resourceful mother.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am confident my son will have a happy, healthy future.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am a positive role model.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am now an entrepreneur.
Because of SIRCH Community Services, I am a graduate of Fleming College.

My son and I are one of MANY people whose lives SIRCH has touched. If you would like to know about them, please click here.

One more thing… This is just a small glimpse of what we’ve been through. I ask one thing… Please don’t see us as victims. I held that view for a short period of time and it got me nowhere. When you hold that view, you get sucked into a very negative vortex that is just so hard to get out of. If you look at what you’ve overcome, that is so empowering and it just fires you up to shoot big! Xox

4 thoughts on “My gratitude for SIRCH

  1. Well said Kyla. I can only hope other woman in similar situations that you were in, are able to turn their life around.

    • Me too Laura. That’s precisely why I share my story. There is nothing more special about me than there is about anyone else. Even if I inspire just one person, I’ve done what I set out to do.

  2. I am sure your speech was inspiring, people need to hear positive examples of how things can be better.

    My youngest daughter (and my oldest before her) is at a small rural school, which is VERY unusual for a gringa, (most put their kids in private schools). I have been a mother and participated in school activities for over ten years. I have just started teaching weaving to mothers who are interested and had a really good turn out. It makes me happy to be able to share my knowledge of fibre to other mothers who may not have many opportunities to learn.

    They can make gifts for their families, but also there is the possibility of an income, (most of the woman work at part time agricultural jobs).

    As you say, being given the opportunity and having the strength to move ahead can turn your life around. Your little man will be very proud of you, πŸ™‚ .

    • You are helping to change lives with your generosity! You have probably ignited more fires and passion than you’ll ever know. THANK YOU for doing this! This is the EXACT same scenario that helped me spread my wings πŸ™‚

What's on your mind?

