Merry Christmas!!!!

I just wanted to pop in and wish everyone a Merry Christmas!

While I don’t consider myself a Christian, I do celebrate the holiday. To me, it is about spending time with family and friends and wishing good will and giving to others (is that not how He would want his birth celebrated anyway?). I don’t have a whole lot of money, but I bought a bag of food for the food bank. I have more money than I did three years ago though…

Three years ago I was sitting in a shelter with my baby boy. We had nothing. Or so we thought. I was blown away and still am to this day, by the amazing generosity and giving spirit that come over people, particularly at this time of year. Because of complete strangers, my baby boy and I were able to have a Christmas celebration. After that, I don’t care if I only have $20 in my bank account. I will give whatever I can because I know that I will be helping somebody that needs it. I know that for sure because of the help my son and I received. I always thought up until then that I never had enough to give. Well, I can tell you from experience that a can of soup means the world to somebody who has nothing.

And if you don’t celebrate Christmas, then how about you share details in a comment below about a celebration you take part in so that I can join you and spread the word? I don’t like this PC stifling of beliefs. I believe in including everyone’s celebrations (provided they are intended as peaceful and loving in nature… in other words, that don’t promote hurting others or animals), but we can’t do that if we don’t know about the customs. You’re always welcome to join me!

Merry Christmas to all!!!!!!!!!

4 thoughts on “Merry Christmas!!!!

  1. Merry Christmas!

    Here in Chile we celebrate Christmas Eve. We have a nice big dinner with family, and then after dinner, (and as close to midnight as the kids can last) we open presents! Sometimes this is followed by Christmas mass, or visiting other families and neighbours.

    What I love most is being with all my in-laws, and that there are plenty of kids around. Hope you and your little man have a nice Christmas full of love!

    • Thank you for sharing! It really does sound wonderful πŸ™‚

      I think my little man had an awesome day (up until he had to leave us anyway). He would open a toy, start playing with it and forget that he had other presents to open! LOL Both of my parents were just so filled with joy just watching him… I know it brought back so many wonderful memories of my brother and I when we were little. We went over to their place on Christmas Eve and spent the night. The one thing I didn’t like about Christmas when I was a kid was how we got to open our presents and then we were dragged off to a family dinner, having to leave our gifts behind. I told Mom that we’ll just keep coming to her place on Christmas Eve so we won’t have to travel anywhere. Of course she was okay with that! Hehehehe!

  2. I think the celebration of any religious tradition or cultural tradition like Kwanzaa is about family and community and doing good works. Sometimes we need a reminder that we may be doing better than someone or that we appreciated a helping hand at some time.

    • Happy Kwanzaa to you and your family! Thank you for sharing about it! I had heard of the celebration before, but I never knew what it was, who celebrated it or when it happened. I looked it up and now I know πŸ™‚

      I am trying really hard to teach my little man about giving and helping. He’s still a little young to truly understand, but if I keep setting an example for him and explaining why we do it, it will just be a way of life for him.

What's on your mind?

