The Wheels Are Turning!

I went to visit my friend, Bea, at the Creative Business Incubator. She’s just got set up and she got a rather big order for some dresses. I told her that if she needed me, let me know. So we discussed what was going on. I’m so excited!

While I was there, I found out there is an empty space. I would REALLY like to set something up and get working. While the knitting, spinning, weaving etc. is what I truly love, I really need to zero in on a niche. I just know it’s going to involve sewing. We tossed quite a few ideas around. I’m going to be breaking out the sketch book and drawing some drafts. I NEED to do this!

After I left, I went to Marty’s. I LOVE Marty’s! I picked up some more roving and some recycled sari silk. I’m not quite sure what to do with it, but I know there’s potential. I’m going to try carding it and see where it goes from there. If it doesn’t work, then I will just have to incorporate it into other pieces. Wow, the innovation week really did get the wheels turning!

So now I’m off to turn another wheel… One that will produce some yarn 😉

6 thoughts on “The Wheels Are Turning!

  1. My friend does alterations, repairs and makes dresses/clothing. She got a huge order for some dresses by the end of February, so I’ll be popping in to help her out when she needs me. Ideally, we would like to work together with our businesses. When things are slow for her, she can pop over and work at my place and vice versa 🙂

    • Oooooh, I can already see the potential there! Thanks for the suggestion Fay! I know it would be a lot of fun. I also want to work with wet felting and sheer fabric. What you showed was just amazing! Unfortunately I won’t be able to do any of this until after Christmas gets all wrapped up here… My Kycave is absolutely upside-down! That may have something to do with this crazy intense course I just finished taking last week LOL

  2. Don’t forget to stay in touch with me as you start to get your focus. I have no doubt that the business incubator would be an excellent vehicle for you, and having two like-minded energetic “fabric folks” in the space would be valuable for both of you.

    • Thanks Mike! I really do appreciate it. The visit yesterday was so inspiring. I’m going to keep coming up with different ideas because I would LOVE to be a part of the team! I used to work in a sewing factory, so I know that I am able to mass produce products with precision and quality in a timely manner. I just have to figure out what those products are. Time for some research, sketching and product testing. I will definitely be in touch 🙂

What's on your mind?

