Applied Design, Life Lessons and Some Good Reading

This week was our most intense week yet. I don’t think anyone in the class got all of the assignments completed. Not only was it a lesson in textiles, but it was a life lesson too. Sometimes there is just NO WAY you can get everything done in the time frame you have been given. I not only worked hard everyday at my assignments, but I also put in an extra 13 1/2 hours of studio time at school (which consisted of 3 twelve hour days in a row) and some time at home as well. I put EVERYTHING I had into it. It got to the point where I was prepared to say that I wasn’t able to complete the side assignments and just take the zero. Fortunately, we are able to hand in our assignments up until 9 am Monday morning, but we automatically lose 20%. I guess that’s better than a zero.

If I can look myself in the mirror and know that I have done EVERYTHING in my power to complete what I am required to do, that’s the most important thing to me. Mom has always told me “All you can do is do your best.” I did and I’m satisfied with that.

Needless to say, I’m not even looking at my sewing machine today. I am spending some much needed, well deserved quality time with my baby boy. Then we’re headed up to my parents’ place for dinner.

As for my assignment, I still have to finish it. I want to post pictures, but it’s a gift for Mom. Now that she has become a bit more tech savvy, she may stumble upon my post and the surprise will be ruined. So once I hand it in and then give it to her, I will post the pictures. I have to say that the way it is turning out, I’m rather impressed 🙂

In my “spare time”, I have continued to work on the sock order I have. I got Normy to try the one on that I completed and it fits perfectly. So it will fit the man that these are intended for too. Yay! Normy said that they felt really nice on (I think there was a bit of a hint included in statement).

I’ve also been doing some reading when I can too. I actually have two books on the go… One for weaving and one for spinning. I’m so excited about them both that I just can’t get enough of it! I’m reading Teach Yourself Visually: Handspinning by Judith MacKenzie McCuin (ironically, the other book I purchased about spinning was written by her as well… I noticed this after the fact!). The other book is Learning to Weave with Debbie Redding. It’s an older book, but OMG, the info in here is amazing! Well, she had me gripped from the preface. The illustrations are wonderful and the way she presents it, she repeats the important parts in different ways to ensure that you understand. I feel confident and excited about warping my loom! (I’m going to wait to do that though because I would just lose my mind knowing that I have a warped loom waiting for me and not having any time to do anything with it!).

On another note, I am very proud of myself that I was able to come out of Marty’s with only having spent $20. I usually spend at least $100! So yay me lol

2 thoughts on “Applied Design, Life Lessons and Some Good Reading

  1. I just love reading your blog. Good luck with your classes. The books you are reading sound great. I like when they repeat the important parts in different ways 🙂

What's on your mind?

