My Mentors… THANK YOU!

Yesterday there was a period of about 5 minutes where I was about to explode into giddiness (I kept myself under control, but it wasn’t easy!). Three of my four major fibre mentors were all in the same room! Of course Laura was there. Faye, who was our instructor the first week, had popped in. And then Darby Bayly showed up! The only person that was missing to complete it all for me was Wendy.

Darby was the one who helped cultivate the “seed”. The desire to follow a path in fibre arts had been planted many years ago when I was a teen. But what growth was there was cut down. In December of 2009 after starting Sew Resourceful, Darby helped pull out the weeds and nurtured that seed. She suggested that I may want to look into the program. She took it and said that it changed her life. Funny, because I was definitely in the market for a different life at that time!

The following summer was when I saw Laura’s work for the first time. I was just amazed at how one could use their sewing machine to paint fabric with (not to mention all of the other cool techniques she uses). That just left me wanting to meet her and know more! Well, that wish came true a couple of months later. She had also taken the fibre arts program and said that it had changed her life. Well, life was getting better than it was, but it sure could be better than that.

Between the encouragement and inspiration from these two and a desire to follow my heart since I’d been given a life “do-over”, the timing couldn’t have been better.

Enter Faye. We only had her for the first week, but did she ever set the tone for the program! The things we did that week were things that I really needed to do to help me deal with the loss of my friend. That was huge. Of course the new techniques were amazing too. It was the best time that I could have had, given the circumstances.

Wendy came in the next week. She has helped change my life (and other classmates, as we were discussing last night) just by telling us about how she is living hers. Aside from the obvious spinning and weaving, there is her view towards the environment and how she’s doing her part to respect it. She has also “guided” me towards safer ways of dyeing fabric and yarns. I am particularly grateful for this because she may have just added years to my life 🙂

I want to thank each and every one of these ladies. You are all so inspiring to me. You have each taught me so much and encouraged me to follow my heart and my dreams. You have given me so much to think about and helped open doors (and my eyes) to spots where there were once walls. I now have a path that I want to follow, which I have never really had before. Or at least been on that path with such an enthusiastic cheering section. Each of you will always have a place in my heart.

The timing of those women mentioned above crossing my path and this course has just been phenomenal. Life has thrown some real curve balls in my direction over the past few months and I’ve been able to knock them out of the park because I have somewhere else to place my focus. Between losing my best friend, supporting a VERY close family member who is in the process of kicking cancer in the ass, the drama involved with custody issues and being forced to face an individual who is still allowed by the “process” to continue to mentally and emotionally abuse me on a regular basis, I honestly don’t know how I would have handled all of that.

I thank God everyday for my mentors and for this course. For the person I am becoming.

2 thoughts on “My Mentors… THANK YOU!

  1. Thank you for being the very first person to subscribe to my blog. Today I was Freshly Pressed! I know that great things are in your future 🙂 Judy

    • That’s so exciting that you were Freshly Pressed Judy! Congratulations!

      Thank you so much for your kind, encouraging words. I really do appreciate them. Things get so intense with this course and sometimes I need a positive reminder as to why I’m putting myself through all of this 🙂

What's on your mind?

