Catching up – Textile Embellishment Parts 1 and 2

Well then… I thought I’d be able to catch up last week. Think again! Laura warned me that this week is going to be even crazier. It seems like since we got back from reading week, the workload has really increased. But hey, I was actually expecting it to be this intense a lot earlier in the program. So… bonus!

I didn’t do so hot on some of the pieces last week. I really did get left behind when it came to the design element. Truthfully, it could have been broken down a bit more for those who really have no previous artistic experience. Like what the hell is a focal point in art terms? Where does it go? That textbook that we’ve cracked twice would have REALLY helped if we were directed towards the right place to go. Laura finally did that. I kept telling her that I am struggling with the “art” part of things. So she remedied that 🙂 She showed me what to read in order to wrap my head around stuff. Then she challenged me to apply it to my projects. It was awesome! I really appreciate her taking the time. She is the kind of instructor that, if you ask her a question and show interest in the topic, she will do whatever she can to help that light click on.

So here is the yardage that I was speaking about a couple of weeks ago. This is designed to create awareness about emotional abuse:


The colorway (in other words, same print, different colours)


First free motion project


Second free motion project


More free motion fun… These are both coloured in with thread. Colouring with thread is way more fun than crayons! 😉


Little pieces of fabric cut up and placed on water soluble stabilizer. I added another layer of stabilizer, did some free motion sewing, washed the stabilizer away and got this…


Some “findings” under some tool with free motion sewing on top. This was a blast to do!

This week we are working on a 2D and 3D project. I am making a vest for mine. I won’t go into detail as of yet. I’m hoping the recipient will skip the next few entries about my project. I don’t think she reads my blog anyway. It’ll be my luck that she’ll start now! lol

I got one sock down. Five more to go! Hopefully the woman that ordered them still wants them… If not, Normy was eyeing them up lol

I will do my best to keep posting. It sure hasn’t been easy. I got thinking more and more about my blog and how to back it up. I think I’m ultimately going to make a scrapbook. I think that’s the easiest way 🙂

2 thoughts on “Catching up – Textile Embellishment Parts 1 and 2

What's on your mind?

