TGIF! What an AWESOME day!!!

I never thought I would ever say TGIF while taking this course, but that is my stand today. Not because it wasn’t a wonderful week. It was an AMAZING week with an AWESOME instructor! There was just so much information and so many projects to do in such a short time. I put in two 12 hour days this week. And I totally enjoyed it! I have that more-than-satisfied feeling that one gets after a delicious, enormous, special meal. I’m full and blissful. Gunnel certainly did her job this week! This is the last that we have her unfortunately. I do hope our paths cross again someday 🙂

More good news! I was told that that bursary I won was applied to my student account. So I wasn’t going to be getting a cheque. I was okay with that, but something told me to make sure that OSAP knew what was going on. I wasn’t sure if they would issue me that money or if they would keep it as payment towards my loan. I really didn’t care which way it went. I just wanted to make sure that they knew about it. I asked this morning. My payments were split in two. On my loan papers, it said that they wanted such and such an amount towards tuition on the first one. One the second one which was dated later, there was nothing. I showed her my papers. She made a phone call. It turns out that my tuition was paid around the same time that the bursary came out. So, that means… I get a cheque cut to me next week!!!! WOO HOO!!!! Now comes the hard part… Do I save it to put towards my loan payments that start in June or do I invested in a free arm sewing machine in order to make money to pay off my loan? It will be a VERY long time before I have that kind of money sitting in my hands again. I’m thinking the investment route may be the way to go.

I didn’t get a picture of my yardage yet, but I will post it probably next week. I’m satisfied with how it turned out. I would print that again. I may end up printing it again so that I will have the fabric handy when I do have time to work with it.

So here is what I completed yesterday and today (aside from the yardage):


This was done on the school printer. It’s on fabric using Bubble Jet Set. Pretty funky!


This piece was taking the image above and adding a background I painted with pigment and using metallic pigment. There were carvings in the tree from when Mom was a child, so I highlighted them with silver pigment.


The words and border were done using special foil. I can’t wait to show this one to my parents! There’s an ongoing joke about “Who’s boy” little man is. Dad will ask him and he will have a great big grin on his face and say “Grammie’s boy!” but then he will turn around and say “Papa’s boy!”

Well, next week we have Laura back. WOO HOO! She asked us to plan out our projects, so I’ll be taking my sketchbook home. I think I’m going to make a story book for my little man using the techniques we learned last week. Hopefully my printer will cooperate!

4 thoughts on “TGIF! What an AWESOME day!!!

    • Whee!!! Thank you! I will send you an email to set up a time to get up to see you. I’m interested in buying an extra reed and anything else you have kicking around to get me rolling 🙂

  1. My first impulse would be to get the sewing machine. However … I don’t know how your business tax laws compare to the ones here. It might be better to wait until you set up your business and then the sewing machine might be a business expense/asset. 🙂 Judy

What's on your mind?

