Design Class

I think I mentioned that I’ve had a lot on ye olde plate last week. It was crazy. To add to it, I had to go to Barrie and back on Friday and Sunday (about a 5 hour round trip with rest stops) and then I had to go to Lindsay on Saturday to pick up my machine from being tuned up. I ended up spending the day with Mom, which is always a pleasure. I also go started on my Christmas shopping! WOOT!!

Anyway, there wasn’t a whole lot to the instruction component last week. Most of our time was spent drawing, gathering information and making our presentations. I did take pictures and I will explain what is in them 🙂

Various pictures of dot designs collected off the web

Line Designs designs collected off the web

Line exercises I drew

In this one we were supposed to develop 4 individual pattern designs based on the idea of a stripe

An example of texture. This was painted with a piece of yarn

Another one painted with a piece of yarn

And another…

And another 😀 (last one, I promise!)

This one is demonstrating texture. I sewed the top right and the bottom right ones. I wanted to see what sewing on paper was like. Nothing exciting, but I can say that I tried. I think Gunnel was impressed with my determination lol

Geometric shapes representing stability and movement

Organic shapes representing stability and movement

I have to say that this week was a particularly challenging one. I had never done anything like this before. I THINK I got it down pat, but I could probably use more work in this department. Oh well. I told Gunnel that I probably could have used more time with it. She said that the subject is so dry that she didn’t think she could have taught it any longer! LOL I guess that says a lot about her teaching if she can take a dry subject and leave a student wanting to know more 😉

2 thoughts on “Design Class

What's on your mind?

