I’m Still Here!

This has been a bit of a messed up week. It was Thanksgiving here last weekend, so we had Monday off. We were SUPPOSED to go in on Saturday according the schedule, but party time was more important to some than a little boy getting spend time with is mama (I was NOT impressed about the whole situation… I’m over it though. Sort of.). So Tuesday and Wednesday nights were really late – 9 1/2 hour days (9 pm by the time we got home). I was done early today, but my focus was on spending as much time with little man that I could because of missing out on the last two nights. And he’s gone tomorrow for the weekend ๐Ÿ˜ฆ We started painting a wooden rocket ship kit I got for him and we had a picnic on the floor. He really is a blast!

This week we have been doing design. I really think it would have been A LOT more beneficial if this portion had have been one of the first sections covered. I can tell you that it would have opened up a lot more creative doors for me, that’s for sure. It’s pretty intimidating being in a class full of people who know how to draw and/or have some form art training.

I will try to remember to take some pictures of my work tomorrow. It’s been all in black and white this week until this afternoon.

And on the excitement front… I am very close to purchasing a loom! I just have to make arrangements to pick it up. Hopefully it will disassemble and fit in my car. If not, I may have to talk sweetly to my dad to see if I can borrow his pickup truck. I’m sure if I offered him some home made pulled pork, biscuits like Red Lobster’s and some gas money, he will probably help me out. If that doesn’t work, I’ll tell him that I’m moving back home to make up for the money that I lost out on from not having a loom! ๐Ÿ˜€ Hehehe

10 thoughts on “I’m Still Here!

      • If you are going to weave with thick yarns you might be able to make a reed. I drilled holes, (not easy getting them straight, but worked) into two thin strips of wood that fit into the part that holds my reed. Then I cut lots of kebab-sticks to the correct length and pushed them through the holes. Joining the two sticks parallel with all the kebab-sticks. It was a bit tricky, but it works.

        The reed that came with my loom was very rusted and very fine for my hand spun.

  1. Sorry I could not wait any longer for the class to finish for lunch as I had an appointment. I had information re: Lendrum wheels and also a friend is selling her ALMOST new handcarders for $40.00 if you know anyone who wants a really good deal. Next summer spinning week at HSTA will be July 9th to 13th and is great for beginners OR anyone needing to learn all the tricks of the trade from fleece to finished projects.
    cheers wendy

    • I was looking for you! Too bad we didn’t get a chance to chat. Hopefully next time.

      I will pass the message on about the handcarders. Laura (our instructor this week) asked everyone what our favorite section of the course has been so far. There were I think 3 others that said that they really enjoyed the spinning ๐Ÿ™‚ Is the wheel you mentioned the one I ordered? Geez… I didn’t even really ask for details, did I? I just knew you would keep me on the right path! Shoot first and ask questions later, eh? Hehehe I’m sooooo excited!

      Thank you for posting the dates about the spinning course! I was just talking to Mom that day about wondering when I was. I’m supposed to be out of town for some time next summer. Now that I know the dates, I can pass it on in order to work around things. Yay!

  2. How exciting, a loom! Is it a big floor loom or a smaller table loom? I have 2 table looms, (one was made by my husband and uses a rigid heddle, the other is an old Dryad loom from the dump) and I use a rigid heddle loom my Dad bought, that looks just like the Ashford looms.

    Have you heard of Saori weaving? It is a more relaxed form of weaving, more movement and feeling. It takes advantage of the parts that are not perfect. I bought a used book about it, and it is interesting, in case you get a chance to have a look at it.

    • It’s a 42″ floor loom ๐Ÿ˜€ I would love to get a table room, but truthfully, I have access to more floor space. I’m going to be keeping it at my fiance’s place for the time being. He’s just happy that I have my toys there which means I that I will be there more lol

      I have not heard about Saori weaving. I will definitely look into it. Thanks for the head’s up! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • They’re on their way! I have been taking more pictures of the tools too. There are things that I haven’t heard or seen before, so I’m assuming that may apply to others that find their way here too. Now to find the time to get these entries done… I’m an all or nothing kind of girl. I don’t like posting willy nilly. I may have to do that though! (Damn inner perfectionist!)

What's on your mind?

