Day 23 – Reactive Dyes

I have to say that initially I wasn’t overly gung-ho about using reactive dyes. You need to wear a respirator and it’s chemicals. I kinda changed my tune a little when I saw the colours you could achieve with them though!

Laurie mixed them up for us and away we went. We had to do a 10 step scale. I started with Royal Blue and made my way to Fuchsia. Of course I did this keeping the middle of the scale in mind… Purple! I just can’t get away from that colour. Let me rephrase that… I have NO DESIRE to get away from that colour! I also did a couple of side trials with Fuchsia and Turquoise. Or purple! Hehehe

No homework tonight, thank goodness! I try to get everything out of the way in class so that I can spend as much time as I can with little man.

I have a bit of a rant I have to release… So feel free to skip this part if you’re in a happy place! LOL First of all, I CANNOT get over how some in the class seem to feel that they are above cleaning up after themselves. Seriously… We’re SUPPOSED to be adults here. The rest of us shouldn’t have to play mommy and clean up after you. There are also those (possibly the same offenders) that feel the need to take up as much space on the print table as they damn well please. Um, there are other people that need to get their work done too! AND there’s one little piece of work in there that I have the urge to tell where to go, with explicit direction. She undermines me any chance she gets. She doesn’t seem to do it to anyone else. I actually snapped back at her one day last week, which I don’t normally do. In another instance, I was talking to somebody about my blog. I’m rather proud of it, excited that there are actually people reading it. She said “I don’t understand why people have blogs. Nobody cares about what’s going on with other people. Unless maybe they’re on a journey or something.” I turned to the person I was talking to and said “I guess I must be on an interesting journey because there are people that are actually reading about my adventures.” And then this little…person… has the audacity to turn around and ask if she can use my hole punch or other supplies I have on hand. I don’t use the word hate that often, but I have to say that I HATE users. And I HATE being used. If you don’t treat me with the same respect you treat everyone else with, how DARE you ask me if you can use my supplies? Put on your big girl pants, learn to treat others equally and come talk to me when you’ve grown up! End of rant.

I only have a couple of pictures to share with the dyes in their containers. They are sitting there until Friday morning. Since they’re reactive dyes, they need to be shaken up from time to time in order to get the best results.

So we will see the results of that on Friday.

I made an appointment today to get my sewing machine tuned up and my darning foot. The excitement is starting to build for the sewing portion!

And I promise my next post will be more positive 🙂

12 thoughts on “Day 23 – Reactive Dyes

  1. Know exactly where you are coming from with the ‘rant’. It is ever thus that one or two never pull their weight. thank goodness for the rest of you. A student gets from the program WHAT they put into the program.

    Also come have a look at our food colour samples some day…we can do 12 step colour wheels and gradations with it as well without the chemical atmosphere. Sorry for my rant but having had cancer from what the doctors claimed was ‘textile dyes’ or printer’s ink (never near that stuff) I feel that I was the canary in the coal mine to warn others about home dyeing. hugs

    • I was just thinking about the food colour kits on the way home! The other bonus of those is that I wouldn’t have to have a separate kitchen, would I? I loved the nature dyes, but I know I would need a separate area. I also love vibrant colours. I will definitely make my way in! I’ve sort of been avoiding Marty’s because I lose control in there! LOL I would like to get a yarn winder for home and check out a couple of other things. I should be okay if I go in there and stick to my list!

      I was so excited to see the spinning wheel back today!!!! THANK YOU!!!! I MAY have broke into a happy dance when Anneke told me it was back… She probably thinks I’m weird 😉 My best friend gave me some fleece for my birthday, so I was making donuts while waiting for my dye pots. I’m so excited! I also wanted to thank you for bringing that magazine in for everyone. There may have been a happy dance there too! *HUGS*

  2. Hmmmm, I’m guessing she’s never actually read any blogs from the sounds of it! I wish I had a penny for every person I’ve heard say “oh I can’t see the point of x” when they haven’t ever tried x… Never mind, you know the secret: that there is a worldwide community of textile enthusiasts who are exchanging ideas and experiences via the internet, and you’re a part of that community. Woohoo!

    • And I love it Cally! I’m so excited to have connected with you and all of the other lovely ladies here. I am truly honored that you all take the time to see what’s going on. I guess as an observer, it would be interesting to see somebody else that shares your passion standing on the edge of the nest, about to spread their wings and join you. And the joke’s on her… My purpose for starting this blog was to document my school experience and crafting adventures for MYSELF. I was told that this course was intense and I wanted to make sure that I remembered my experience. I just chose to share it with the world in case somebody stumbled upon it who shared my passion and maybe needed a gentle nudge to do the same thing. And why not? I had no idea that there was such a large community waiting to welcome me with open arms! I love it!

  3. I love to read your blog and I hope that you do not let anyone distract you too much from the amazing path that you are taking. And it is so generous that you are sharing your adventures with us 🙂 Judy

  4. I agree with everything everyone else has said, so I won’t repeat. Ranting is okay, it makes us feel better to get things off our chest. And some people are just not nice, no matter how kind and understanding you may be to them, they will treat you like s**t and then be nice when they want something. And sometimes we have no way of cutting them out of our lives. We just have to be the adults and try not to let them get us down.

    And yeah for blogging friends! and fibre! and fabric! and colours!!

    • It did feel good to rant. It was either that or I open up a can of whoop-ass and let this person have it! (Verbally, that is) Another classmate made a comment about her today too, so I guess I’m not alone. And as far as not being able to cut idiots out of your life… That’s a whole other rant! LOL

      I’m with you… Hurray for blogging friends, fibre, fabric and colour!!! I so love that I’ve connected with people who would not only understand my happy dance when I get to work with these things, but would also join in with me. Let’s make this a global happy dance! 😉

  5. Ignore her. Don’t let anyone take up any of your time if they are negative. That’s the secret to happiness. You are a “giver” and she is a “taker” so forget her or forgive her, but don’t let it bother you.

    • Thank you for that reminder Patsye 🙂 I’m over it now, but I just had to let ‘er rip. I heard a very good saying that I apply to people like her (and my son’s father in particular)… “Stop focusing on negative people. By giving them attention, you are letting them live rent-free in your head.” Well, the eviction notice has been served (which was the purpose of the rant). The “Don’t let them live rent-free in your head” part has been very effective for me!

      • Oooh, I like that. I have had some people “living rent free” and it took me a long time to get them out of my head. And the silly thing is that they don’t even know, (or care) that they are causing pain…because so much of it is in our own heads, how we interpret their actions. Really is healthier to just “evict” them!

      • So true about them not knowing or caring (except one of the aforementioned pieces of work actually thrives on it… He wants me to be miserable and wants to make sure that he is responsible for it. So my way of giving him the virtual finger is to evict him!). I find it a lot easier to shift my thoughts and stop them in their tracks since adopting that outlook. And as a result of doing that, my life has taken dramatic turns for the good! And the more good I have to focus on, the easier it is to not think about those who do not deserve even half a second of my attention 😉

What's on your mind?

