Day 19 – Photo Emulsion Screens

Today was really interesting! Finally, an area where I can show my sense of humor without having to draw!

We made screens today with photo emulsion. This burns an image in the screen and you can print with it indefinitely. The wonderful thing about it is that you can have finer lines. You can also use images that you create in programs such as Photoshop. The possibilities are endless! Here are a couple of drafts I did up:

This is the screen I ended up doing:

And this is the final result!:

I’m so excited about how this turned out! I’m still a little shocked that I was able to actually get something from my brain to a piece of fabric that turned out EXACTLY how I had it pictured! Yay me! 😀

2 thoughts on “Day 19 – Photo Emulsion Screens

    • When I first heard it described, I thought it was something I’d never do. If you actually got to see the process, I don’t think you’d find it difficult. As for the shirt, I am seriously considering doing a mass printing of t-shirts. I know I would have bought it if I didn’t make it! You don’t see a whole lot of t-shirts directed at fibre artists or needle crafters. I’m thinking it may a good fund raiser towards my loom 😉

What's on your mind?

