Day 18 – Screen Printing

My day started off wonderful and it just snowballed from there! Little man was extra snuggly this morning! I love his snuggles! He went to daycare with no problems at all. He has adjusted really well.

Then when I pulled into the school parking lot, I saw one of my Earth Angels! I hadn’t seen her in a few months. She used to run a mom’s group that I participated in, but she ended up moving to another employer. I miss her so much! When you get right down to it, if it wasn’t for meeting her, I probably wouldn’t be taking this course. Going to the mom’s group got me hooked up with Sew Resourceful. Because of going to Sew Resourceful and a seed planted by the instructor at the time (Darby, you really do rock!), I decided to follow my passion and go to school! Aside from that, she was a shoulder to cry on. She would point me to resources. You name it. I’m so glad that I got to see her, even if it was only for a couple of minutes 🙂

We did silk screening today using paper stencils. You draw out a picture and then cut it out with an Exacto knife. You place it on top of a piece of fabric, then put down the screen. Then add pigment to the screen, scrape it across and back with a squeegee and that’s it! After your print is dry, you need to heat set it with the iron.


This my screen and squeegee


The left part of this print (with all the little designs) contains contributions from the whole class. The flowers are ones that I did on my own


My second print… Just for my friend Cass

The second print I traced the dog. Drawing is not my forte, so I have to be extra creative!

Tomorrow we are doing photo emulsions. I believe it is where an image is burned into the screen so that you can use it over and over. The problem with the paper stencils is that they can only be used once. You put all that work into cutting it out for a one-time only shot.

I’m not too sure what I’m going to use for my photo emulsion screen. I’m so tired right now that I can’t really focus much more on school. I may have a nap after I put little man down to recharge. I’m feeling a lot better than last week, but I don’t think I’m 100% yet. I’ll get this done, just like I manage to pull everything else off 🙂

2 thoughts on “Day 18 – Screen Printing

What's on your mind?

