Day 17 – New print on the block

Today we learned about block printing and how to do it. Talk about fun! And challenging. Ah, the inner perfectionist has been appeased once again (not as much as with the weaving and spinning, but she is content!). It is absolutely crucial to have your block lined up in order to keep consistency. You’ll see what it looks like below when you don’t 😉

I’m really excited about this portion of the course. I knew deep down that I would rock the felting, weaving, spinning and needle work. This part has been a challenge because I’ve never really done anything like this before. I’ve never had the chance to paint fabric. I was scared at first because I can’t draw to save my life. But you don’t have to! As far as the tools go, you’re as limited as your imagination.

As far as the block goes, it started off as a 4″ block of a 2×4. I sanded it. Then we took some foam (you know the crafty stuff that you can get, most likely used with/by kids) and some rubber cement and adhered it together to give us a thicker surface. We traced the block, cut out the square and then cut it in half. From there, we drew on our shapes and cut it out. After we cut it out, we stuck it to the block with some more rubber cement. Then we were ready to rock.


This is the first block I made… Meh


This is the first print… It turned out better than I thought it would

The next 4 prints are my assignment that is due tomorrow. She gave us a list of the different ways she wanted us to turn our blocks while we were printing to achieve different affects.

Tomorrow: SILK SCREENING!!!! WOOT!!!

2 thoughts on “Day 17 – New print on the block

  1. Oh….I love the purple swirly one. Lovely, and looks like a lot of fun. I’ve never done this craft before, and it look like fun. You are so good at keeping up with your blog, even when you don’t feel well. I suppose this is like a diary that you’ll be reading for years to come. That’s actually a great idea. Do you print out your posts – just in case…?

    I made an award last night, and you are certainly one of my favorites to receive it. I don’t know if you know how to put this in your sidebar, but if you like, and you want to display it, write to me and I’ll help you out. Also, you can share it with others that you’d like to thank for their interesting posts as well.

    Keep up the good work. Glad you’re feeling better. I love reading about your adventures in textiles! Patsye

  2. I was actually just thinking today that I should back my entries up because if Word Press ever crashed… I should get a book to put the print outs in. Thanks for the suggestion!

    Thank you so much for the award Patsye! I will certainly be in touch about displaying it. I would be proud to do so!

What's on your mind?

