Day 16 – Lots of colours and playing with paint!

Well, I had intended to update last night! That didn’t work so well for me… I dozed off just before 8 while I was snuggling with little man. Then I came downstairs and was intending on having a nap. I did, except that the nap lasted until 7 am! I am feeling much better, but I think I still needed to catch up on a little more sleep. I’m trying to respond to everyone’s comments and keep this blog updated, but it sure has been a challenge. Yeah, I’m feeling bad that I don’t have the time to respond to everyone. I will do my best… Two weeks from now, you may get a response! Each and every comment means so much to me. Please know that. Thank you so much!

On to YESTERDAY’S class…

Once again, I knew it was going to be fun, but not as fun as it turned out to be! Our instructor for this week is Gunnel. I can’t wait to see what else she has in her bag of tricks! She’s done fabric for movies, has her own dye pigment company. The things that she showed us yesterday (and I was actually able to execute!) just blew my mind!

In the morning we worked on two different colour wheels. One was the Itten. I think it’s the more familiar one. That’s the one I used when I was at hairdressing school (you know what’s funny? A few things I learned at hairdressing school has come up in this course. So glad to finally know that wasn’t an entire waste of time and money!). The other one is the CMY wheel, or Cyan Magenta Yellow. Interesting stuff. There was an amazing book that she showed us that had colours in it with the CMY numbers in it. The title has slipped my mind for right now, but I will add it (if I remember!).

In the afternoon, we got to do some painting on fabric. That was so much fun! I still can’t believe how mine turned out! She showed us how to use some everyday objects such as potato mashers, forks, a deodorant cap and a bathmat to get some really funky textures. I figured this would be a fun thing to do with little man… How much fun would he have running his dinky cars over a piece of fabric with paint on it?! And the great thing about these pigments is that they’re water soluble and environmentally friendly.

Today we’re going to be doing block printing. I’m stoked!!!!


Our pigment kit


My first attempt


Second try

I’m still loving the spinning and weaving though!

3 thoughts on “Day 16 – Lots of colours and playing with paint!

  1. I can’t speak for everyone, but I don’t need a response. Just reading about your experiences is the joy of it all. And your fabrics are phenomenal. That just looks like so much fun. Not quite tie-dying, but the results are similar.

    Glad you’re feeling better. Great colors!

  2. I agree. I don’t need a response. I am so very happy that you are sharing your fun and artistic days with us. I look forward to every post 🙂

  3. Thank you ladies 🙂 I don’t know if you know how much it means to me that my little world is interesting enough to check out. I look at both of your blogs quite often, but I don’t have much time to comment either. I love it how our creativity has brought us together to a common place. I also love that, just by being ourselves, we find new and wonderful people showing up in our lives!

What's on your mind?

