Day 15 – I survived!

First of all, I want to take this chance to thank my Mom for helping me so much. I don’t know if she’ll ever read this, but I’m going to write this just the same. If it wasn’t for her, there is NO WAY I could do this course. She picks little man up from daycare when I have to stay late. She feeds him supper and gets him ready for bed for when I arrive to pick him up. Yesterday when I was so sick, she showed up on my doorstep with some cough syrup and vapor rub on her way to get little man. She told me to call her when I woke up. I called her at 9:45. She ended up keeping little man overnight. As much as I miss little man, I really did need the uninterrupted sleep. Tuesday night when the cough really hit me, I was talking to her on the phone. She asked me if I had any cough syrup, which I did not. Since we’re in a small town, the stores close at 6. She drove 20 minutes to my place around 9:30 at night just to bring me some cough syrup, some pop and cough drops even though I told her I would be okay. So I want to say…

THANK YOU MOM!!!!!

My presentation went as well as could be expected. Actually, I need to raise my expectations because I think it went better than I had expected. My voice was really raspy and I lost it a couple of times due to my cough, but I got through it. Thank goodness!

I have to say that I am VERY grateful that Patricia recognized that I did everything I could do in my power to be there and complete everything. I really do put my all in. A lot of times in the past, that has not been recognized. Normally I don’t care what others think of my effort. As long as I can look myself in the mirror and know I did my best, that’s all that matters. But when it comes to being graded, that is one time that matters. Well, sort of.

A classmate said something to me this week that sat really well with me. She said that when it comes down to it, as long as we pass, our grades don’t matter. She pointed out that when we go out looking for jobs or starting our own businesses, people aren’t going to care what our marks were in Art History or Weaving or Spinning. With that said, that’s not an open invite to slack off. But it was a really valid point and a rather large stress reliever. Thank you, Anneke 🙂

What's on your mind?

