Day 11 – Art History

Never in a million years did I ever imagine myself voluntarily taking an art history course, let alone enjoying it! Art and history were to of my most-hated school subjects ever (of course a majority of my teachers in these subjects certainly did not help the matter).

This is the part where a lot of things are over my head. Uncharted territory for me. That’s okay. I’m making it my mission to ace this subject too!

One of our assignments today was to “make a warp reeling from an oriental carpet.” What the…?! Basically, it is your interpretation of an oriental rug and what the warp yarns would look like if you were to make it. Initially, I had no clue what she was talking about. I just winged it and it turned out well (or at least that’s what I was told!)


The carpet


My warp reeling of the carpet

I can see how this would be really handy if you’re going to try to replicate a rug. Or even to just give you an idea of how certain colour combinations may look together. I can see myself using this method down the road.

And on the happy news front… The support workers’ strike is over! Yay!

And on that note, I am retiring for the night. I think I caught little man’s cough. Not a good scene. I don’t have time to get sick!

3 thoughts on “Day 11 – Art History

  1. Sorry about your cough. But glad about the strike being over. That must be a relief. And the rug colors are beautiful, aren’t they? Those are MY colors. I’m really gravitating toward natural hues these days. But I can’t seem to bring blue back into my fold. Has anyone done any research on why we slide from one color to another in our art? Like Picasso.

What's on your mind?

