Day 9 – WEAVING!!!!!!

You want to talk about a rewarding art form!

Did you know that half of the work in weaving is setting the loom up? No kidding! I have always admired weavers. But now I hold them in a whole new respect.

First of all, you have to “warp the yarn.” It is a crazy process of counting, measuring, having to be so aware of what you’re doing. You start off by wrapping yarn around pegs. How much you have to wrap depends on how long and how wide you want your warp yarns to be (warp yarn is the yarn on the loom). You have to be so careful that you have counted right or else you end up with problems (my group’s problem is that we had 4 strands too many. Now we have to move the shuttle through one of the loops in order for it to wrap around the end. No biggie… lesson learned!). You have to then carefully move it over to the loom. There’s more counting and sorting and assuring that everything is in the right place. It makes a difference if it isn’t. This really is at least a two person process.

After figuring that stuff out, you then have to actually start weaving. You have to keep track of which pedals are which and what ones you use in which combinations. It sounds crazy, but ah, the perfectionist was pleased she finally had somewhere to contribute! You can have multiple shuttles going. When I left today, I had two going. I have to go back in for 8:30 tomorrow morning.

So now I have another goal. The satisfaction won’t just stop at the spinning of wool. Nope. I want to spin the wool and then make the fabric! Why can I see myself extracting silk from cocoons down the road? It’s going to happen, isn’t it?

Inner thought dialogue: Wow. I am so getting why this is appealing to me! This is THE outlet for the critical perfectionist part of me! If you don’t have EVERY little detail right, you screw up. And every time you screw up, you learn how to fix it. Not a big deal. It’s all part of the process. When you know how to fix it, you can use your errors as an example to show others ideas on how to fix it. And they will share their experiences. What a great way to build a community! This can apply on so many levels!*

8 thoughts on “Day 9 – WEAVING!!!!!!

  1. I am so envious of your experience. You are learning so much. I am so grateful you are sharing, but I wish I was there with you learning. These skills are not just fun, but in reality they are skills that will help you with other analytics. Learning anything increases your capacity to do other things because let’s face it: mechanics are mechanics, and physics is physics, and problem solving is problem solving. What fun you must be having.

    OK. Now may I ask what the name of the school is you are attending? And I am wondering if there is something like that around here – something I can afford. We have an Art Institute up north, but it is cost prohibitive. There is always a seminar somewhere within a day’s drive, but you don’t really get much from a one or two-day thing. Could you, or have you already, blog about where you’re going and your ultimate goal in this education. I’m sure others, besides me, would like to know. Patsye

    • Hi Patsye πŸ™‚ I wrote a post about my school that hopefully answered some of your questions. This course is quite costly (probably around the $4,000 mark with tuition and supplies, give or take), but so far is seems well worth it. I had to apply for a student loan. I’m also applying for bursaries to help cover costs as well. If you did find a school that is local to you, you may want to consider that. They would more than likely have information about bursaries and scholarships. I know my school has one available to mature students (and I’m applying for that one too!).

      The only thing I missed in that entry was answering your question about my ultimate goal. The thing I’m finding with this course is that my goals are constantly changing and I’m adding to them. I approached this course with an open mind. I didn’t have an exact direction as to where I want to go. I was actually planning on gaining some clarity while I’m here. The bottom line remains the same though. I want to have a career that takes care of my family and myself, not just financially, but on the mental, emotional and spiritual level as well. One of my goals is to love what I’m doing. To have something that makes me want to jump out of bed and just get to work. I know I’m on the brink of zeroing in on my target. I also have a lot of ideas about how I can make this happen.

      I really wish I could bring you with me too. I just want to share this with the world! If there is anything I can do to help you find what you’re looking for, I will do what I can. Feel free to email me at keepmeinstitchezAThotmailDOTcom. I can ask around if anyone knows of any good schools near you (I just need a list of towns/cities nearby) . Seeing as this can be a rather small world, you never know who may know something relative, right?

  2. Thank you Judy! πŸ™‚ The potential that weaving carries really excites me! The infinite combinations of materials, different kinds of weaves achieved just by varying the tiniest thing. I think I may even come to embrace the fickle act of warping a loom! LOL

  3. Lovely to see your enthusiasm for weaving! It’s such a vast area of work that it will be keep you busy for life. Personally I like the process of warping even better than weaving – once I know how the cloth is going to turn out, then I just want to get it finsihed as quickly as possible. But you’ve hit on the secret. A lot of people think weaving is complicated because so much seems to be happening at once, only it isn’t like that at all. It is just a sequence of many small steps, each one moving the project a little further along. I’m looking forward to seeing what you weave.

    • Thanks for dropping by Cally! I went to visit your site (and “liked” your Facebook page!) and now I’m even more inspired and fired up! Hehehe! Unfortunately, I’m not sure how much weaving I’ll be able to do over the next while since I don’t own a loom (yet! And the spinning wheel is due to arrive in November or December!). There was warp yarn left on the looms at school and I’m contemplating taking advantage of it. It all depends on the time factor. I am DEFINITELY going to be exploring this art more. I think if I was able to weave everyday, I would be one of the happiest people ever! I already have a challenge in mind… I would really love to weave the Haliburton Highlands Tartan. I also have this feeling I will ultimately be on the same page as you with enjoying the warping. What a challenge!

  4. Is there a weavers’ guild in your area? It may be that they would be able to lend or rent you a loom, or point you towards a weaver who is downsizing her loom horde! Mind you, with the spinning and the dyeing to do as well, and no doubt sewing, felting, knitting and what-all-else, you do have plenty to keep you busy…

    • Oh, I do have plenty to keep me out of mischief, that’s for sure!

      I actually know of somebody that has a loom for sale, but I think I’m just going to put the acquisitions on hold for now. I don’t want to get weaving and forget to go to school! (I can actually see that happening! LOL) Thank you for the suggestion about asking the guild though, I will certainly keep that in mind!

What's on your mind?

