Day 4 – Signs

Today started really early. I wanted to make sure that I had my paper done so that I could work on my first “art for the sake of art” piece.

When I got to school, I started on my piece which was due at 2 pm. I had made that paper yesterday which I had intended on using. I had also brought in some items that I believe I received as signs from my friend who has passed (see “If you don’t have anything good to say…”). I was going to incorporate all of them into the piece, but something didn’t feel right. I decided to ask Fay about it. Of course I wasn’t looking for her to tell me what to do. What I did want to know is where do you begin to sort out what goes where. She also suggested if something didn’t feel right for this piece, that I could do a series of pieces. I thought that was a wonderful idea! She also suggested that I may want to write a poem to him or about him. So I did. I will post the picture below and explain it. I just want to wrap up the rest of the day’s events.

So today was the last day that Fay will be with us until further in the course. I am sad to see her go. She is such a wealth of information and inspiration. I thanked her for helping me this week and for listening to me. I told her that it really did help me and that it meant a lot. She gave me a hug. She is a person I would love to spend more time with. I would love to see more of her technique – art and spiritual. She is another person who “gets it.” I LOVE hanging out with people like that!

I went to pick little man up at the daycare. He was in a much better mood today. It sounds like he was doing better. I took him to the grocery store. He wanted to get an orange and an apple. Just when I was about ready to pull into my garage, Mom showed up. She asked me if I wanted to go out for pizza. Considering I was beyond exhausted, I took her up on it in a heartbeat. Little man was pleased that he got to spend some time with his Grammie too. I really am so grateful for Mom. I wouldn’t have been able to do this course without her. She is helping me so much. I love her beyond words!

Here is the piece dedicated to my friend, unofficially dubbed “Signs”:

The background was wet felted. I chose red and white because my friend was the MOST patriotic Canadian I ever had the honour of knowing. I wrote and hand stitched a Haiku for him:

Thank you for the signs
I feel you are beside me
Always in my heart

The other parts of this piece are items that I (and a few others) believe are signs from my friend.

The REALLY interesting part of this whole thing… When I was presenting this piece to my class and explaining what the signs meant, a single light blew. There was no power surge. Fay just looked over at me in awe. I think there may have been a couple of my classmates that were freaked out a little. I’m not scared. I am really amazed at just how strong his spirit is coming through. I’ve experienced signs from my Granny Girl shortly after her death, but nothing this strong. I am so grateful for each and every sign. I just hope that he doesn’t think that I’m holding on to him and he’s staying for my sake. If he has to go, I am ready to release him. That was one of the points of this piece.

I am quickly learning that there is more to art than I ever thought. I have learned that there is a spiritual side to it. When I say spiritual, I’m not talking religion. I’m referring to getting in touch with your soul and giving it a chance to get up on the soap box. When I was writing that poem and working on that piece, I kept getting chills. To me, that was an indicator that something unseen is pleased with what I was doing.

So that concludes my first week. Now it’s time to unwind. I’m thinking a Big Bang Theory marathon is in order. Tomorrow… Spending the day with my little man 🙂

4 thoughts on “Day 4 – Signs

  1. The light bulb thing gave me a chill. And yes, I agree. There is a lot of spirituality in art. It is the universal language (besides math) that everyone seems to speak once they learn to read the “signs.” I love art, in all its forms. My favorite thing to do is go to galleries. Once there I can’t wait to get home – and make my own art. I get so inspired. Your blog is inspiring me. I am thrilled this is working out so well for you. You deserve this.

    • I never really thought of it as being an universal language… Good call! This is why I LOVE posting and getting feedback. I love hearing others’ perspectives. I like looking at the world from as many different angles as I can. I’m excited about going into galleries even more now because my perspective has expanded from just being in school a week!

      Thank you for your kind words Patsye. I did do a lot of work to get here and it’s so much better than I had anticipated. I hope my experience is giving you some ideas to add to your own work. I’m going to hop on over to your neck of the wood right now to see how the book is coming 🙂

What's on your mind?

