Introducing “Sunset at Silverspoon”

I gave in.

If you haven’t read my post about sunsets, you may want to do so now in order to understand this a little better.

I had to send my little man off again this wknd. I won’t get into it great detail. All I will say is that I don’t agree that he has to go to an environment where he is not appreciated and his needs aren’t being met (mostly emotional). On these weekends, I try to surround myself with positive people and experiences to keep up my happy vibe in spite of his absence.

What’s better than going out to lunch with a dear, long time friend and then topping that off with some retail therapy at the local fibre arts store (aka “candy store” hehehe)? And little did I know that it was going to end up being a bit of a reunion party too! Yes, this part is relevant too… Lol

I picked so more wool rovings for some felting at the candy store. I figured I may need them for school, so that was my “justification” 😉

So while I was at my friend’s place, I figured that I would introduce them to the world of felting. I had written about the bestie going on a cross Canada road trip and the pin she picked me up (and the fire she ignited again!). She had also picked up a felted hat. She was curious about the process, so I thought I would introduce her and our friend I went to lunch with to it. So now the bestie is digging the felting too 😀

While I was there, I had pulled some of my treasures out of the bag. I had picked up a variety of colours, but I had no idea just how beautiful they were until I pulled them out. And guess what? I had the perfect colours for the sunset piece I have wanted to do for almost a month now.

I was going to wait until I got to school, but that’s not gonna happen! I couldn’t help it. When I sit around and chat, I have to have something in my hands. So the piece has now started!

I’m not resisting it anymore. I’m also not going to “should” myself. My plan for today was to do some cleaning and organizing. But I just can’t get this piece out of my head. I’m done fighting. On a few different levels…

So I introduce you to my very first felting piece called “Sunset at Silverspoon”:

20110807-024048.jpg

I thought it would be neat to see a work in progress. I have no idea what I’m doing or if I’m even doing it “right”. It’s a learning process an that’s what I’m doing right now. One day I will look back at it and smile, remembering how it would just not get out of my head and how it got the fire going 🙂

4 thoughts on “Introducing “Sunset at Silverspoon”

    • Thank you Judy 🙂

      I have no idea what I’m doing, but I like the direction it’s going in. I’m working on the sky segment right now. Oh my goodness, I’m loving that! I’m going to wait until I get it done to post pics though. I think progress pics of the sky will take away from the wow factor.

    • Glad you had a great weekend! 😀 It was an AWESOME weekend! The best I’ve had (Gooberless) in a long time. Great friends, great food… Lots of love, encouragement and inspiration. Just what the doctor ordered.

What's on your mind?

