One step at a time…

I heard my “song” this morning on the radio. I’m taking it as a sign. “I get knocked down, but I get up again. You ain’t EVER gonna keep me down!” I’ve been trying to clear up some personal issues and getting things lined up for my student loan application. I felt knocked down last week, but I got up again over the weekend with help from my family (they don’t know it, but they helped immensely… Parents, aunts, uncles and cousins. My family rocks!). I think every time I get knocked down, I get stronger from having to get up. It’s getting harder and harder to knock me down these days 🙂

So I finally managed to get some more of the paperwork done that I need for getting my student loan. Now I just have to find a letter somewhere in my house that tells me how much money has to be where and when, and I’m golden. I have to say that I’ve impressed myself with how I’ve kept most of my stuff together. Anything that’s been misplaced has been found with minimal effort. This is huge. Yay me!  Then off to the school I will go with the required paperwork and a cheque that OSAP needs. Apparently they need money in order to hold on to money for you until September. The whole OSAP process is so sickening. The hoops that you have to jump through to obtain money for school that you have to pay back. And it’s not like the gov’t can’t get their money… They’re the frickin’ government. You don’t pay, they hunt you down!

As for my stitching… I’ve been quite busy in that department. I have JD sweater number two on the go. The back is a couple rows from being done. I have 2 1/2 dishcloths done for my bro’s birthday. I have a third sun hat almost complete. I just have to put a little flower on it and we’re good to go. I’ve also done some more on my niece’s quilt. I just haven’t had time to take pictures of these things.

I really am loving every minute of this! It seems the more I follow my passion, the more the Universe opens up to make it happen. I think the OSAP fiasco is just a test. If this was something I didn’t really want to do, I would have certainly given up by now. But hey, I got accepted to school. I’ve won a bursary. I’ve got sweater orders. Today I ran into an old friend that was asking me about hemming stuff for her. I’m probably going to end up with my own business without even trying at this rate! The dream Kycave is looking more and more real!

Can you believe that just a year and a half ago, I was sitting in a women’s shelter with my baby? No idea where I was going, what I was doing, where I was even going to live. Someday I may share the whole story. If you took the time to read this post, thank you so much. One thing that I would like you to take away from it… Follow your passion. Follow your heart and soul. I’m doing it. There’s nothing more special about me than there is about you. If live out of love, ANYTHING is possible.

Now go follow your dreams 🙂

3 thoughts on “One step at a time…

  1. I am so happy for you! I try to follow my passion and my heart and there is no greater feeling than living your own life and not a life that others set out for you. Have a great day. Judy

  2. This answers some of my questions. How wonderful for you. Just hearing this, the way you speak of things, of yourself, you are destined to succeed. Your life is filled with luck, and your child is so lucky to have a mother like you. How wonderful that you have a family to surround you and help you. It’s the way it should be.

    • Thank you for your encouraging words 🙂 It has been a long road over the past 2 1/2 years, but I have my sights set and I refuse to accept anything else. My little man deserves the best start to life that anyone can give him and I’m doing everything in my power to ensure that happens. Someday when he’s older and is facing an obstacle, I am now better prepared to assist him.

      My family is AWESOME! I count my blessings everyday. I wouldn’t be where I am without them. Especially Mom. She is an amazing woman and I can only hope to be even half as amazing as her 🙂

What's on your mind?

